Do I Need Visa for Turkey | Turkey Visa

Need Visa for Turkey

In order to increase the country's income from the tourism sector, Turkey makes it easy for foreign tourists who want to visit Turkey. However, you must prepare documents so that you are not deported for entering Turkey illegally. Passport and Turkish Visa are the most important documents that you must have and carry with you when you visit abroad. 

Without a Turkey visa and passport, you are not allowed to enter a country. However, there are several countries that can enter Turkey without a Visa. So, do you really need Visa for turkey? Read the following information on whether you need a Visa when visiting Turkey.

What is the difference between an Ordinary Passport Vs Official Passport?

An ordinary passport is a travel document issued by a country’s government to its citizens that verifies the identity and nationality of the holder for the purpose of international travel.

Passports are small booklets that typically contain the bearer’s name, place of birth, date of birth, the date of issue, date of expiry, passport number, photo and signature. 

An official passport, or service passport, is a type of passport that is issued to government employees. Its purpose is to let officials in the destination country know that the bearer is entering the country on official business, representing their country in an official capacity. Holders of official passports are not typically granted any special privileges.

What type of Visa should you hold for visiting Turkey?

Before you take a trip to Turkey or decide to apply for a Turkish visa, you should always check whether you need a visa, e-visa or you are exempt.

Note that only the citizens of Turkey and Northern Cyprus are eligible to travel in and out of Turkey without any permission, for whatever reason. Nationals of the other countries of the world, may or may not need a visa depending on the relations of Turkey with that particular country, and a few other factors.

Following in this article, you may find out whether you need a visa to enter Turkey according to your nationality and purpose of your trip.

Holders of passports of the following 40 countries and territories can obtain e-Visas online for a small fee prior to arrival. The duration of stay for most of these nationalities is 90 days (30 days for some) within 180 days.

The following is a list of countries: Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belgium, Canada, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Timor-Leste, Fiji, Grenada, Haiti, Indonesia, Ireland, Jamaica, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Spain, Suriname, Taiwan, and the United States. These countries span the globe, representing diverse cultures, geographies, and histories, each with its own unique characteristics and contributions to the world.

In addition, 63 world countries and territories are eligible to apply for a single entry e-visa for tourism and business to stay in Turkey for up to 30 days:

This extensive list encompasses a diverse array of nations, including Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Bangladesh, Benin, Bhutan, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cabo Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Ivory Coast, Djibouti, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, India, Iraq, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Palestine, the Philippines, the Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. These countries represent a wide range of cultures, landscapes, and histories, with each contributing to the rich tapestry of our global community.

The following conditions and requirements are so important to read just in case you are the citizens of those countries who want to travel to Turkey:

  • Some countries should hold a residence permit and valid visa from the Schengen Area member countries like the US, UK, and Ireland. 
  • You will be travelling to Turkey with an airline that has protocols with the Turkish Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Citizens of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, and the Philippines do not need to meet this condition.
  • You have a hotel reservation and the required financial means.
  • Citizens of Algeria must be between 18 and 35 years old.

Where can you get an e-Visa?

Basically, you can get a Visa from the embassy in their country. However, you need to apply for a visa at least one month before you travel to Turkey. If you apply for the Visa today, then you can visit Turkey 30 days later. It takes a long time to get a Visa from the consulates. 

Fortunately, there is a better option to get a Visa faster. Well, you can apply for a visa online now. Some countries mentioned above are eligible for getting e-Visa online, but it is only for visitors who want to travel to Turkey for commerce or holiday.

Countries exempt from Turkish Visa?

Visa exempt countries are permitted to visit Turkey for tourism purposes. Generally speaking, a passport from an eligible nation is all that is required to visit Turkey under the visa-free regime. The specified countries are as follows:

Ordinary passport holders are required to have a visa to enter Türkiye.




    Bosnia and Herzegovina















   Hong Kong








   South Korea






   Eswatini (Swaziland)




   Sao Tome and Principe

   South America







   Antigua and Barbuda






   Saint Kitts and Nevis

   Saint Lucia

   St. Vincent and the Grenadines

   Trinidad and Tobago



   British Virgin Islands

   Cook Islands

   Hong Kong


   Turks and Caicos Islands

Can visitors from those countries stay in Turkey forever? Anyway, visitors who are exempt from the Turkish Visa can only stay in Turkey for three months within 6 months. It means that if you have been staying in Turkey for 3 months, you need to return to your country and then you can visit Turkey again in the next three months.



Apply for Turkey visa:

  • Online Application: Fill out the visa application with your passport details.

  • Payment: Use a credit card to make an online payment.

  • Email Confirmation: After payment confirmation, your visa will be emailed to you.

Get Visa to Turkey

Recent News

Show More

Other Info

Show More
Apply for Turkey eVisa